27 APR 2021


“1971: The Year That Music Changed Everything," executively produced by Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees, will air on 21 May, while "Physical," produced by Tomorrow Studios, will air on 18th June.


Apple TV+ announced the release of two docuseries, “1971: The Year That Music Changed Everything," set to premier of 21 May and "Physical," to debut on 18th June. "Physical's" first three episodes will debut first, followed by one new episode weekly, every Friday, exclusively on Apple TV+.

“1971: The Year That Music Changed Everything" will be executive produced by Academy, BAFTA, and Grammy Award winners Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees. “Physical” is produced for Apple TV+ by Tomorrow Studios. Created, written, and executive produced by Annie Weisman, who also serves as showrunner, “Physical” is directed by Craig Gillespie, Liza Johnson, and Stephanie Laing, who also serve as executive producers along with Marty Adelstein and Becky Clements for Tomorrow Studios, Alexandra Cunningham, John McNamara, Sera Gamble, and Byrne. 

Hailing from Universal Music Group’s Mercury Studios in association with On The Corner Films, Asif Kapadia will serve as series director and will executive produce alongside James Gay-Rees, David Joseph, and UMG’s Adam Barker. Chris King serves as editor and executive producer. Danielle Peck is a series producer and directs alongside James Rogan.

Set in the 1980s San Diego, “Physical” is a half-hour dark comedy following Sheila Rubin, a housewife supporting her smart but controversial husband’s bid for state assembly and fighting demons behind closed doors. In addition to Byrne, “Physical” stars Rory Scovel, Dierdre Friel, Della Saba, Lou Taylor Pucci, Paul Sparks, and Ashley Liao. “1971: The Year That Music Changed Everything," which covers how musicians and soundtracks that shaped the culture and politics of 1971, joins Apple’s award-winning offering of unscripted series and films including “Boys State,” which won two Critics Choice Documentary Awards and the Sundance Film Festival Grand Jury Prize Award.