Kanal D's “Secret of Pearls” get new international deals

The series will be broadcasted through countries from the Middle East to the Balkans and North Africa.

5 JUL 2024

  • Facebook
  • X
  • Linkedin
  • Whatsapp

Kanal D announced that "Secret of Pearls" will be broadcasted in Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen. This expansion is thanks to the acquisition of the series by an OTT platform with a strong presence in the Middle East, North Africa, and the Asia Pacific. The platform, which already features popular series such as "Three Sisters," "Farewell Letter," "That Girl," and "Love and Hate," has become the go-to channel for Kanal D International series in the region.

The company further announced that the Balkans are also showing significant interest in "Secret of Pearls." The BKM-produced series has been sold to Serbia and North Macedonia, where series like "Farewell Letter," "Three Sisters," and "Love and Hope" have already found success.

As "Secret of Pearls" garners interest from countries worldwide, negotiations for various regions are ongoing. Kanal D International's best-selling series abroad include classics like "Price of Passion," "Fatmagul," "Forbidden Love," and "Love Trap," as well as newer hits like "Three Sisters" and "Farewell Letter."

"Secret of Pearls" tells the story of Azem, who was wrongly imprisoned for his wife's murder. After his release, he is determined to reunite with his children, who were taken into state care. Along the way, he meets Dilber, a dancer who provides comfort, and Piraye, a wealthy woman with a rebellious daughter. As Azem searches for his children, he faces challenges and finds himself torn between the two women. Despite obstacles, he reunites with his son but must still find his missing daughter. Azem's journey is about redemption, family, and the pursuit of forgiveness

The BKM production "Secret of Pearls" by Yılmaz Erdoğan features a cast including Yılmaz Erdoğan, Hazar Ergüçlü, Selma Ergeç, Kubilay Aka, Rıza Kocaoğlu, Güven Kıraç, and Yasemin Baştan, with Sera Kutlubey joining the series as "Nehir."