Serious Kids places “The Ghastly Ghoul” in the US and ten more platforms

The 30-minute CG animated film will be aired on Disney Channel and Disney XD USA this Halloween Season.

20 SEP 2023

"The Ghastly Ghoul"

  • Facebook
  • X
  • Linkedin
  • Whatsapp

Following the announcement that Lupus Films and Dream Logic Animation Studios appointed boutique distribution company Serious Kids to distribute their Sky Kids/Kika original Halloween animated special “The Ghastly Ghoul,” the 30-minute CG animated film will air this Halloween season on Disney Channel on Sunday, Oct. 1 and Disney XD on Sunday, Oct. 23.

Since the last announcement of the first raft of European sales to Canal+ and KMBO for Pay, VOD and theatrical rights in France, YLE Finland, DR Denmark and SVT Sweden, Serious Kids are also announcing ten further deals with TVO and Telequebec in Canada, TVNZ, PCCW Hong Kong, RTBF, Belgium, RTS, Switzerland, LRT Lithuania, RTV Slovakia, RTP Portugal and NRK Norway.

Also, in addition to a number of nominations and wins in Ireland at the RTS, Celtic Media Festival and Animation Awards; "The Ghastly Ghoul" has also just won the prize for the best animation short at the Giffoni Festival in Italy.

Written by Emma Hogan and directed by Kealan O’Rourke and Maurizio Parimbelli with assistant director Corinne Ladeinde, “The Ghastly Ghoul”is produced by Brian Willis and Stephen Smith and executive produced by Ruth Fielding and Camilla Deakin. It is a Dream Logic Animation Studios and Lupus Films Production in association with Sky, Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland, KiKA of ARD/ZDF Germany and UK Global Screen Fund - financed by the UK Government’s Department for Culture, Media and Sport and administered by the BFI -with the support of the Creative Europe Programme MEDIA of the European Union.

Screened on Sky Kids in the UK and KiKa in Germany from October 2022, the spooky seasonal special about the relationship between a monster who doesn’t believe in himself and a young girl who longs for friendship, features the voices of Sophie Okonedo ("Hotel Rwanda"), Ardal O’Hanlon ("Derry Girls"), Aisling Doyle ("Mr Malcom’s List") and Michael McElhatton ("Game of Thrones").