MIPCOM 2022: 10 new winners at the Diversify TV Awards

The award that celebrates, champions, and promotes diversity and inclusion through exemplary representation in television series and entertainment programs internationally, had a record of 190 submissions this year from 27 countries.

19 OCT 2022

  • Facebook
  • X
  • Linkedin
  • Whatsapp

RX France announced the winners of the 6th MIPCOM CANNES Diversify TV Awards. The industry’s only award to celebrate, champion, and promote diversity and inclusion through exemplary representation in television series and entertainment programs internationally, a record 190 submissions were received this year from 27 countries.

A total of 10 winners were awarded in a ceremony held on the penultimate day of the 38th International Co-Production & Entertainment Content Market in the Grand Auditorium of Cannes’ world-famous Palais des Festivals and hosted by international anchor and diversity advocate Femi Oke. “All the winners today have been recognized not only by their peers but by specialists and advocacy groups in the diversity and inclusion area, an extraordinary and meaningful accolade that also stands as an example of what’s possible in TV,” Lucy Smith, Director of MIPCOM CANNES and MIPJUNIOR said.

The nominations were reached by a Short List jury composed of leading professionals committed to diversity and inclusion; the winners were chosen by a Final Round Jury made up of leading advocacy organizations and specialized publications that campaign for equality and inclusion, including The Anne Frank Trust, APF France handicap, Fondation Mozaïk, GADIM, GLAAD, the Minority Rights Group, ODA, SCOPE, and Stonewall.

The awards are organized in collaboration with founding partner DiversifyTV, and in association with founding Presenting Partner A+E Networks, Presenting Partner Netflix, and returning Awards Partners Telefilm Canada, Canada Media Fund and All3Media International, and D.I.M.E.S., among other supporting partner companies and organizations.

The new Behind The Scenes Impact Award was presented by FWD-Doc an international collective of filmmakers with disabilities who advocate increasing the visibility of, support for, and direct access to opportunities, network, and employment for D/deaf, disabled and neurodiverse filmmakers.

The whole list of winners is as follows:

Representation of Race and Ethnicity - Scripted
Pour toi Flora
Original Broadcaster: Radio-Canada
Distributor: Attraction Distribution
Produced by: Nish Media

Representation of Race and Ethnicity – Non-Scripted
Our African Roots
Original Broadcaster: SBS Australia
Distributor: Abacus Media Rights
Produced by: Chemical Media

Representation of LGBTQIA+ - Scripted
Sort Of
Original Broadcaster: CBC/HBO Max
Distributor: Abacus Media Rights, Sphere Media Distribution
Produced by: Sphere Media Toronto (Formerly Sienna Films)

Representation of LGBTQIA+ - Non-Scripted
LA (A Queer History)
Original Broadcaster: PBS
Distributor: PBS, A+E
Produced by: L.A. Queer History Inc x 4Mat Factory

Representation of Disability - Scripted
Original Broadcaster: Kan 11
Distributor: Armoza Formats
Produced by: Eight Productions

Representation of Disability – Non-Scripted
Ellie Simmonds: A World Without Dwarfism
Original Broadcaster: BBC One
Distributor: Keshet International
Produced by: Flicker Productions

Representation of Diversity in Kids Programming - Pre-school
Proud To Be Me
Original Broadcaster: CBC
Distributor: CBC
Produced by: CBC

Representation of Diversity in Kids Programming - Older Children
Jamie Johnson Series 6 - Episode 8 - 'The Right Thing'
Original Broadcaster: BBC
Distributor: BBC Studios
Produced by: Short Form Film

Premio MIPCANCUN (New for 2022 in partnership with MIP Cancun)
Because Victoria
Original Broadcaster: Amazon Prime Video
Distributor: VIS
Produced by: VIS, Oficina Burman