NBC unveils celebrity guest judges for “Hot Wheels: Ultimate Challenge"

The title, produced by Endemol Shine North America in association with Workerbee under license from Mattel Inc., is scheduled to premier Tuesday, 30th May at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT.

8 MAY 2023

  • Facebook
  • X
  • Linkedin
  • Whatsapp

NBC's new car makeover competition show “Hot Wheels: Ultimate Challenge" will feature celebrity Guest Judges Anthony Anderson, WWE Superstar Big E, Terry Crews, Sung Kang, Jay Leno and Joel McHale. The title is scheduled to premier Tuesday, 30th May at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT.

“Hot Wheels: Ultimate Challenge” is an original format developed and produced by Endemol Shine North America in association with Workerbee under license from Mattel Inc. The executive producers are showrunner Tim Warren, along with Andy Thomas, Sharon Levy, DJ Nurre and Michael Heyerman from Endemol Shine North America; Rick Murray and Chris Hale from Workerbee and Fred Soulie and Phil Breman from Mattel Television.

The rotating celebrity guests will each join host Rutledge Wood and resident experts Dalal Elsheikh, designer for the Ford Motor Company, and Hertrech “Hert” Eugene Jr., car culture influencer, on an episode throughout the season, where they will review the epic car transformations and crown a winner. Jay Leno joins the finale episodes and will help determine the transformation that will be made into an official Hot Wheels die-cast car. Ted Wu, Global Head of Design for Mattel’s Vehicles division, also joins the finale, offering unmatched Hot Wheels expertise as a winner is selected. The winning "Hot Wheels: Ultimate Challenge” die-cast car will be available for purchase on Mattel Creations, Mattel's collector and direct-to-consumer platform immediately following the finale.

“Hot Wheels: Ultimate Challenge” will give car lovers and Hot Wheels superfans the opportunity to turn a nostalgic car from their past into the life-sized Hot Wheels of their dreams. Hosted by car afficionado Rutledge Wood, each episode will invite two superfans into the Chrome Zone, where they will face off in transforming an ordinary vehicle into an extraordinary Hot Wheels showstopper, inspired by personal stories and pop culture touchstones. Working alongside a team of automotive experts known as “The Car Pool,” the two superfans will create their designs in high-tech, decked-out garages. The winner of each episode will take home $25,000 and the chance to get into the finale, where three lucky finalists will transform another car in hopes of winning an additional $50,000, as well as turning his or her build into an official Hot Wheels die-cast car.

The superfans joining the show include Luidgi Aldator from Brooklyn, NY, Rob Anders from Gilbert, AZ, Felix Arguelles from Los Angeles, CA, Angela Arnold from Gilbertown, AL, Michael Cooney from Chicago, IL, Jadejha Edwards from Houston, TX, “Jersey” Jim Farrell from Forked River, NJ, Arushi Garg from Houston, TX Nick Harrison from Hammond, LA, Aldavid Jimerson from Phoenix, AZ Caroline Johnson from Washington D.C., Terri Jones from Birmingham, AL, Kevin Lister from Houston, TX, Kris Parker | Manhattan, NY, Lauren Partin from Peebles, OH Sheilah Spencir from Cedar Hill, TX 

“The Car Pool” members for the show are Paul Bacon from Coalville, UK, Rachel Bohnet from Kamloops, BC, Tony Bush Jr. from Hayward, CA, Pa’trice Frazier from Sicklerville, NJ, Cody Ingrassia from East Dundee, IL, Preston Ingrassia from East Dundee, IL, Mark Kelley from Indianola, IA, Claudia La Bianca from Miami, FL, Chris Lee from Bay Shore, NY, Savanna Little from Fountain, CO, Christopher Michaels from Atlanta, GA, Rico Montgomery from Cayce, SC, Bob Partington from Burbank, CA, Charlie Seward from Somerton, UK, Michael Sciortinofrom| Las Vegas, NV and Will Trickett from Dilton Marsh, UK.